Gotta Start Somewhere

Standard

I have been toying with the idea of creating a blog for several weeks now. I’m not sure where the idea came from, but it silently crept into my head and I haven’t been able to get rid of it since. In the effort of full disclosure, I had every intention of waiting until January 1st to create my blog. A nice, clean date to begin something new. But then I had an affair involving far too much Mountain Dew and far more Pinterest than anyone should ever do in a day, so here I am writing my first blog post at 4 am. I suppose it’s for the best that I am diving right in – might as well start it before I can put it off as a resolution for 2013.

Anyway, I decided that it’s time for me to search for a home. Not a house, but a home. The place I am living in right now is loud, dirty, and has an overall poisonous atmosphere. I am almost constantly fighting with the other residents and I honestly cannot remember if I ever considered this place “home”. So, I decided it is definitely time to leave. However, finding a new place (and making myself a “home”) isn’t exactly as easy as packing a suitcase and calling a cab. No. I am taking it slow so I can do it right. I have a few apartments in mind, and plan on signing a lease by April 1st. My expected move-in date? June 1st. What shall I possibly blog about in the meantime? The adventures to making this new residence a home. Maybe having all of the things I dreamed as a child that my home would have. Like, a roof that doesn’t leak or utensils for all of my baking desires. A place to curl up in read. Things that I found and painted and made mine. There are lists and lists of these seemingly meaningless items roiling around inside my mind, crying out to be set free.  That is exactly what I shall do, set them free, like beautiful butterflies.

After spending so much time (SO much time!) on Pinterest, I now have a rather impressive, if I do say so myself, collection of of crafty items dying to be made. I have a specific board dedicated to these crafty inspirations so it will be easy easier to make all of the things I want to make. I have magnificent plans to check out the local antique store, Goodwill and maybe garage sales if I can wake up early enough, for wonderful objects just waiting to find new life in my hands. I have all kinds of images, both real and imagined, that I hope to bring to life. I am creating a mental shopping list, thus far consisting of Mod Podge, Chalkboard Paint, wooden picture frames, and buttons. Buttons, buttons and more buttons. On impulse, I even bought a package of buttons on eBay for $3.19 this evening to begin my crafting adventures.

So get ready because I am finally making my way home, for the first time.

 

Leave a Reply

