Water Manicure Tips

Standard

I know this has nothing to do with apartments and crafts, but stay tuned! I have a couple of very exciting posts planned for this weekend.

In the meantime, I had a few free hours this evening and decided to try the water manicure. It wasn’t terrible, but it also wasn’t good enough for me to keep. I removed all of the polish and plan on doing it again later.

There are all kinds of great tutorials out there, like this one from All Lacquered Up.

I also found this video from CND’s Kristina Baune Estabrooks really helpful.

What I Learned:

-Add a small amount of nail polish remover to your water and mix. This seemed to prevent the polish from sinking. The first drop or two still might, but after that it just disperses on the surface. I tried it after reading this comment on All Lacquered Up.

-Definitely use some kind of tape or oil around your nails. So much less mess! I used tape, but I would be interested to see how oil or an oil/tape combination works.

-Breaking off tines from a plastic fork works in place of toothpicks (I didn’t have any toothpicks)

-Try using solid colors. Sheer and sparkly polishes were too thin for me to use. They work better when on top of thicker/solid polishes.

-Solid colors also developed the film a lot slower. This could also be my imagination.  But, I was able to dip three or four nails  before the polish got all clumpy and impossible to use.

-Use a minimal amount of polish. One drop for each circle you are making seems to work way better than lots of drops. So it should look like this.

Not this:

Note how you can see the thin bottom layer in comparison to the thicker top layers.

-Layer your drops. Initially I just did a few drops of each color and then stopped. The polish marbles way better if you do two layers of each color, with one (maybe two) drops in each layer. Mine are way too thick. 

Good luck!

I can’t wait to try this again. It was rather fun and with the things I learned, I do believe next time it will work much better.

Leave a Reply

