Foodie Penpals Reveal Day!

Standard

Happy Monday! Today was definitely one of those days where I had an extremely difficult time waking up this morning. I actually had resolved myself to skipping class and staying in warm sleep to get some more sleep. However, my guilt over missing class was so huge that I ended up not being able to sleep because of it. So I dragged my sorry butt out of bed and did the right thing. Then, I came home and took a very long nap. 🙂 It’s all about compromise!

Despite being a painfully slow Monday, it is also something else, something AWESOME. For those of you who don’t know, it is April 30th. Otherwise known as Foodie Penpal Reveal Day!

The Lean Green Bean

What does that mean? Well head on over to Lindsay  at The Lean Green Bean to check it out. Basically, you get and send an awesome package of food in the mail every month. This month was my first time participating, and I am SO glad that I did. I was matched with Melissa at Our Geeky Life. You should head on over and check out her blog, it’s pretty cool!

Anyway, on to the eats! Melissa sent me an AWESOME box. One of the things that makes Foodie Penpals so great is that it’s super affordable for us poor college kids. The spending limit is $15 and shipping will probably average around 5 bucks. $20 bucks to get a box like this and send one too? Uh, yeah!

I was pathetically lying in bed two weeks ago when the doorbell rang at 2 in the afternoon. Realizing it must be my package from Melissa, I bolted out of bed and down the two flights of stairs in my apartment. By the time I flung open my front door, I saw the postman speeding away. My heart sunk and I looked down at the ground and what do I see? SURPRISE! My lovely postman had left the box at my door. Ignoring my safety concerns and grateful I’d been home, I ran upstairs with my package. Which was HUGE. It was a giant box, and I let out a squeal of delight when I saw it waiting there for me. I ripped the box open (amazed nothing broke) and saw so many delicious items!

First up: Canned chicken, Raspberry Chipotle Salsa, homemade lemon vanilla jam and chow-chow. I’m amazed Melissa managed to find the time to send me homemade treats! How awesome. I haven’t opened the chicken yet (you’ll see why later), but I can tell you that I have an almost empty jar of raspberry chipotle salsa in my fridge. My boyfriend and I gobbled it up in less than 24 hours. As for the lemon vanilla jam, that was so intriguing!! I’d never heard of anything like it, but it sure is packed with flavor. I haven’t tried the chow-chow yet either, but Melissa’s note said her whole family loves it. I bet I will too!

Image

The next thing in the box was a giant bag of Lemon Pepper Pappardelle. Melissa really hit the spot with this one, as I am a HUGE pasta fan. Seriously, I can’t get enough of the stuff. She also included a recipe for lemon pepper pasta with chicken, which is why she included the chicken in the above photo. How awesome is that?! I plan on making this delightful dinner after finals are over and I have time to make/eat a nice dinner.

Speaking of finals….Melissa also sent me a giant chocolate bar and some peach chews. I had the peach chews last night as a study snack. They were awesome!! Such a great texture. I’ve saving the chocolate for next week when I really need it. .Image

WordPress is being extremely difficult today, so sorry for the wonky pictures and alignment.

The other super awesome adorable thing Melissa sent me:Image

Yeah, that’s a mouse. Filled with….you guessed it! CHEESE! Deliciously creamy and so dang tasty, cheddar cheese! I had a really hard time slicing this guy open to get to the cheese. But it was so worth it!!

What else I got:

-Veggie chips. I’d never tried these before, but they were really interesting

-Chocolate Oatmeal. What? This exists? You bet!!

-Fudge! Fudge! Fudge! With caramel and peanuts and chocolate, oh my! Two great big hunkin’ chunks of fudge. Sadly, they did not last long enough to be photographed. 😦

Thanks Melissa for such a wonderful package!! It made my first experience in Foodie Penpals a great one!

And now for the excellent pasta recipe…..Image

I strongly recommend you all immediately join Foodie Penpals.

In case you’re wondering what I sent out, visit Sonia at the Mexigarian. Plus, she’s got a pretty neat blog.

 

Leave a Reply

