Mini Sausage & Mushroom Quiche

Standard

Today is Saturday. That means sleeping in. But apparently, today it does not.  I was up at 9:30. Ridiculous. I couldn’t get back to sleep, so I figured I should just get up and be productive. I decided I wouldn’t only be productive, but I would surprise Andres with breakfast. He is so so so good to me, and I wanted to do something nice for him. Quiche has been on my mind a lot lately, so I thought that was a good route. But, making or buying the crust seemed like such an unnecessary hassle – it is Saturday after all. Enter Crustless Quiches. I love Google. I was initially looking for something with mushrooms because Andres loves them. I hate them, but that’s another story. And then I found these. Perfect. However, I somehow had none of the ingredients on hand. I got a dozen eggs last night (pumpkin pancakes and eggs for dinner!) and I wish I could say I still have eggs left. I don’t. Minus the one egg needed for the pancakes, Andres and I gobbled up 11 eggs by ourselves. That’s 5.5 eggs each. They were soooooooooooo yummy. Brown eggs are the best.

Anyway, the quiches turned out extremely delicious. And they apparently freeze really well. I am testing this currently. I used pork sausage instead of turkey sausage though, because Checkers makes their own sausage with their own seasonings (I think they do all of the meat processing there too) and it is by far the best sausage I have ever had. I refuse to buy sausage anywhere else. It’s super cheap too, I paid about $2 for over a pound of sausage.  I really love Checkers overall. They are locally owned and operated, and provide as much local food/produce/stuff as they can. Also, they’re super cheap and open 24 hours. My favorite grocery store.

I also did not let them cool completely. Because a, I cannot be reasonably expected to wait 15 minutes for deliciousness to cool before eating it, and b, cold eggs are disgusting. But I do suggest letting them cool long enough so that you don’t burn your tongue.

Also, you know what I really like? Cherries attached to one stem. I bought a pound the other day and discovered these lovely goodies.

Four cherries on one stem? That’s kind of awesome. And then I found three. And then two. Best box of cherries ever. I wish I could say these lasted me longer than 24 hours….

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

