Work in Progress

Standard

I recently started cooking more using healthy-ish recipes. And I’m having a really great time doing it. It’s super fun. I know that sounds really obvious and kind of silly. But, I grew up in a house where if you wanted something fun for dinner, you had to make it. And fresh produce for cooking? Yeah, good luck on that one. There was plenty of fruit in the house, but it never lasted more than a day or so before my brothers and mom gobbled it up. Also, three boys? Any kind of organizational system I attempted in the fridge and cupboards was destroyed within hours. That is only a slight understatement. So, I rarely baked or cooked because it was so frustrating. The main meals were cereal, mac and cheese, burgers, or hamburger helper. I am so not kidding.

When I moved out, I was thrilled because I was finally able to cook whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted. And my organizational systems didn’t get ruined. Clearly, that is working out well for me. Don’t judge me. I know where everything is. All the time. 🙂 It’s a work in progress. Also, please pretend you do not see an almost-empty bag of candy. I don’t want to talk about it.

My fridge is actually semi-organized. I know you don’t believe me, but that’s okay. I’ll show you sometime. Right now, I’m too lazy to take a picture.

Anyway! Even though I had the ability to cook whatever I wanted, I didn’t exactly have a lot of experience. I knew how to cook, but I didn’t know what to cook. I didn’t have a bunch of super easy, quick recipes just jumping out of my brain and since I’m quite shy, I was too afraid to try anything. Confession. I am terrified of failure. I have a huge struggle with myself on an almost daily basis about ridiculous things. I have parked a block away from my apartment instead of trying to parallel park right outside the door. More than once. I wish I was kidding.

The same goes for cooking. For several months, Andres and I ate a lot of pizza and pasta and take-out because I had no idea what to cook. Finally, I got fed up with how much money I was spending on food that I could probably make myself. And I LOVE cooking. So does Andres. And all of the eating out was really starting to hurt both of our wallets. So, I grabbed my cookbook and I found a recipe for an “Easy Risotto” that sounded good. I had the wrong kind of rice and I had to run to the store in the middle of cooking to get peas, but I did it. And it was delicious. Far more delicious than I was expecting.

I don’t feel as limited in the kitchen anymore. I know that there is A LOT that I don’t know but that’s okay. I’m sure sometime soon I will attempt a recipe that will blow up in my face and I may or may not get upset. I have a lot of dinners planned for next week and I’m really excited. Maybe they’ll taste good, maybe they won’t. But I promise you I’ll learn something from every one. And I think each one will make me a little less afraid and little more confident. Win-win.

Also, it really helps to have someone like Andres that won’t make fun of me when I mess up.  And he’ll go so far out of his way to make me laugh. Like this.

Yeah, that’s a whole plum. In his mouth. Just ’cause, you know, we’re awesome. Or something. I sense some fun kitchen adventures coming up!

Leave a Reply

